When: September 21, 22, 28, 29 at 7:30pm; September 23 and September 30 at 2:00pm
Where: Historic Theater, The Performing Arts Center of Rapid City
Tickets: From $21-28; Available at the Performing Arts Center Box Office, by phone at 605-394-1786 or online at www.bhct.org. Family Discounts Available!

Sponsored by Haugo Broadcasting

Black Hills Community Theatre opens its 51st season with the musical Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka. Come with BHCT to a world of pure imagination! Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka follows the enigmatic candy manufacturer as he allows five lucky golden ticket winners into his factory for a free tour, a lifetime supply of candy and some surprising lessons. This adaption, based directly on the classic 1971 movie, features memorable songs such as “The Candy Man” and “Pure Imagination.”

Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka is directed by BHCT Artistic Director, Zach Curtis. In his first season at BHCT, Curtis directed Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Fezziwig’s Feast, Love Letters, The Laramie Project, and Gypsy. The production also includes leadership from Choreographer Andrea Schaefer from Barefoot Dance Studio and Music Director Kory Yamada. The cast of 38 local performers includes Paul Robinson as Willy Wonka, Asher Wilkening as Charlie Bucket, Tucker Tonkel as the Candy Man, Holly Perli as Mrs. Bucket, David Andrews as Mr. Bucket, Jace Brock as Grandpa Joe, Kristol McKie as Grandma Josephine, Susan Roberts as Grandma Georgina, Todd Brink as Grandpa George and Jill Haugo as Phineous Trout. The four other Golden Ticket Winners and their chaperones that join Charlie are Cayden Brown as Augustus Gloop, Benae Reuppel as Veruca Salt, Abby Stevens as Violet Beauregarde, Turner Tonkel as Mike Teavee, Meghan Knowles as Mrs. Gloop, Barry Longden as Mr. Salt, Michelle Martinson as Mrs. Beauregarde, and Kory Yamada as Ms. Teavee. The cast is rounded out by an ensemble who appear as Oompa Loompas, Children, Squirrels and more that includes Madi Ahrlin, Catherine Haugo, Caroline Haugo, Quincy Hibbard, Rowan Hibbard, Laura Jensen, Jessica Ketel, Victoria Lujan, Dierdre Martin, Jordyn Page, Audrey Perli, Olivia Perli, Lola Read, Elora Randle, Emsley Robinson, Jack Stevens, Lauren Tilles, Eva Wick, Evie White, and Kaelyn Yamada.

Visit BHCT – Black Hills Community Theatre on Facebook

Visit the BHCT – Black Hills Community Theatre Website